The Meeting Visibility dropdown menu allows the Administrator to choose how much of the Meeting other users can see. This is useful for letting your attendees know that a meeting has been scheduled for a particular date, but still keeping the Agenda or the Board Book private until it has been finalized. When a new meeting is created, it is automatically set to the Unpublished visibility state, meaning only the Administrator can see it for now. Just use the dropdown menu to select the various states of visibility.
Meeting Visibility States
You can click on the next to the Meeting Visibility dropdown to see the description of each Visibility state option at any time directly from OnBoard.
- Unpublished – The default setting for new meetings. Unpublished meetings are only visible by the Meeting’s Administrator. This is used to keep the meeting private so that no other user can see it, even if those users have already been marked as “Readers” of the meeting.
- Meeting Details – Setting the visibility to Meeting Details will open the meeting’s basic information (such as Name, Date/Time, Location) to anyone who has been marked as a “Reader” to the meeting. The Agenda and the Board Book will still be hidden from those users. This state is also when the Contributors may begin uploading documents to their sections.
- Details & Agenda – As a meeting moves to the Details & Agenda state, the full Agenda can be seen by anyone who has been invited to the meeting. Documents added to agenda sections will not be visible to Readers of the meeting. This state is also when Agenda Section Contributors may begin uploading documents to their permissioned sections.
- All Visible – All Visible is the final visibility state. This is also considered to be “Published”. The entire meeting, including the details, agenda, and board book, is now visible to any user who has been granted access to it.
Notifying Users of Meeting Visibility Changes
Changing the Meeting Visibility State to any option besides Unpublished will also prompt you to notify users with permissions to the meeting of the changes to the meeting's visibility. You can choose not to notify the users, or include a custom message in your notification.
If you haven't yet sent a Calendar Event from your meeting you can also choose this option so that the meeting will show up on users' Calendar apps.
Unpublishing a Meeting
You can change the Meeting Visibility at any time as long as the meeting hasn't been archived. If you decide to make the meeting Unpublished to work on without users seeing the changes until you're complete, you can do this.
Changing back to Unpublished will give you the option to delete the linked Calendar Event so it can be removed from users' Calendar apps.
OnBoard Group Trainings:
If you are interested, we do offer further education. You can find the calendar and register for OnBoard Admin group training sessions by clicking here.